Are you feeling pressure to do more with life?

Many sensitive souls I work for feel pressure to do more with their life. This burden can originate from your own internal process but also external forces, such as parents, relatives and friends. One common theme is a drive to move forward in some great way, yet you are unsure of what that is or where you are going. This weight is felt emotionally and can be expressed as restlessness, anxiety and depression.

Are you feeling pressured to do more in life-

 

My personal story

For me, this stress began in childhood. I was born an empath and experienced my father’s sudden death when I was 5 years old and my brother-in-law’s death when I was 15 years old. From these experiences, I felt I don’t have a lot of time in life. In some ways this awareness has made my life richer and more beautiful because I push myself to not have any regrets. In other ways, it has caused me great pain.

Trauma theorists in the psychology world would say a part of PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder) is believing that you will not have a normal life span or in technical terms, a foreshortened future. What happens when you only have this one symptom? One symptom of PTSD does not qualify anyone for a diagnosis.

In the recent year alone, I had two friends die suddenly. Adding this to my mother’s death over 5 years ago, I see how life can change in the blink of an eye and death has touched me very deeply. Death has manifested in me a compulsion to achieve. I need to hurry up, get things done and make my mark on this world before I am out. I am sharing my personal experience because I know others of you are out there who also pressure yourselves for this reason and others.

Reasons why you feel pressured to do more in life

  • Empaths are born healers, who need to become more visible with their gifts, yet often hide them and avoid public exposure. One theory is this restlessness comes from your soul to get you moving and put yourself out there more. Yet, you will be no good to anyone else if you burnout from self-imposed pressure. Read more about burnout here: What helpers like you need to know about burnout 
  • You worry that you are not doing enough with your life. This inferior thinking leads you to compare yourself to others or feel something is missing. What worsens this effect are milestones such as deaths, birthdays, reunions, weddings and births for yourself or those close to you. These events get you thinking about life, regrets and how fast time seems to be moving.
  • You are experiencing post-traumatic stress. You experienced trauma around a life threatening event or a death and are now experiencing symptoms such as startle responses, nightmares, avoidance of triggers that remind you of the trauma, emotional numbness, a sense of a foreshortened future and anxiety. You have flashbacks which put your mind back into the scene of the trauma and feel stuck reliving it through your thoughts and feelings.
  • You are psychic. It could be you are predicting your own shortened life. I have often felt this way. Unfortunately, you will not know you are right until you are on the other side.

What to do

There is a lot of healing that needs to be done in this world, the best place to start is with yourself. When you become overwhelmed with the wounds of others, make an appointment to heal your own. If you are experiencing trauma symptoms, make an appointment with an empathic psychotherapist or healer.

There is no perfect life. Learn to live from your heart and not your head. Become aware of the pressured thinking, stop it in its tracks and focus on what is right in front of you. No one knows how much time any of us have on Earth, relax and enjoy it as much as you can. Trust that there is time and space to do everything you need to do according to divine planning.

Stop comparing yourself to others. Everyone’s life has challenges, do not get sucked into the hype of social media where everything looks great. That is one snapshot of a person’s day, it does not tell the entire story of their life. Compare yourself to yourself 6 months or a year ago and use that as a measure of success.

To wrap things up

Life is short and we live in an uncertain world. The key is to become aware of the thinking that causes you to suffer and learn to drop down into your heart space. Focus on your breath, relax and let go with each exhale. Enjoy this ride called life as much as possible, for this is how you end your life with no regrets.

Lisa Hutchison LMHC works for empathic healers who feel drained after their helping efforts, refill and recharge their energy with intuitive counseling and angel card readings. For more information visit her website at www.lisahutchison.net, while you are there get this FREE gift 8 Simple Things that Release Chaos from Your Life Now!

14 thoughts on “Are you feeling pressure to do more with life?

  1. I think another factor is the ability to notice that there’s a lot to be done. Without good boundaries and self-care, we can’t even do our own part. Thanks for this focus.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely feel pressure to make a difference in this world and struggle on weekends to be balance effort and rest and relaxation without feeling regret at not accomplishing more. I come from a long line of workaholics and have been healing my need to be doing in order to have value. I see progress and I am grateful. I love your wisdom, “Trust that there is time and space to do everything you need to do according to divine planning.” Thank you so much Lisa!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this. As a “recovering perfectionist” and empath this resonates deeply. It took me being chronically ill for 7 years and healing myself in 3 weeks to fully “get” self-care. As a busy mom and being self-employed the “to-do” list is never ending but I now know my well being needs to be at the top of that list! Laundry can always wait! If I am feeling good and have energy – all else is good and in flow!! This is an important post! Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are welcome Jennifer! I love how you include self-care into your to do list. I, like you, learned through illness to pay attention and take care of me as much as I take care of others. Thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Like

  4. Being overwhelmed seems to be affecting so many women currently. Your reminder to stop and take a breath and remember to enjoy the ride is a great way to step out of the overwhelm. Taking a deep breath right now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As a therapist who practices and writes about Respect-Focused Therapy, I heartily agree that in order ti genuinely and openly respect our clients, we need to first be able to do so for ourselves as a matter of course, without reservation. This gives us the authentic ability to share respect with clients.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

