6 Facebook Behaviors that Suck Out Your Energy

There are many ways empaths can feel depleted energy wise and one is sitting in front of you in the form of your phone or computer.  As human beings we have a healthy drive to be social and desire connection. From my clinical work, I am observing increased social media use with disconnection and energy depletion especially among sensitive souls.

I decided to write this blog as a way to increase your awareness around these Facebook behaviors that suck your energy dry, if you let them. It isn’t fair to blame Facebook as it is a neutral entity. It is you who gives social media a positive or negative experience through the thoughts and actions you create about it. You can take your power back by choosing how to use it and listen to your feelings as guides. Sometimes you need outside help such as a psychotherapist to do this and that is okay too. When I was on a recent retreat and shut off my Facebook for an entire week, these behaviors that I have seen in myself and others became crystal clear.

  1. Eye Rolling at Other’s Posts- When your judgment towards other’s self-expression sets in know that it isn’t so much about them but about you. This irritation has to do with a lack of keeping up with social media boundaries. Simply you are on it too much, otherwise these type of posts wouldn’t bother you that much.
  2. Increased Checking- Watch for this behavior when you are bored or trying to avoid feelings of loneliness, sadness, grief, anger, etc. Do you find that you are watching TV and scrolling through the news feed at the same time? Most likely you missed the ending or an important part of the movie or show. Your friends and loved ones may not tell you but they feel unheard when you are checking your phone during conversations.
  3. Posting Everything!- Are you telling everyone what you are doing all throughout the day, reporting in on every place you visited, who you were with, what you ate? You may believe that you are experiencing the moment when you are doing this. In actuality, you are commentating upon your life which removes you from the present moment experience. You are no longer a participant but an observer of your own life once you begin checking for likes and responses.
  4.  Sharing to Receive Validation and Recognition- When you share anything whether it is family photos or your creativity, check in with yourself first. How am I feeling? If you are feeling good, go ahead and post. If not, are you looking for love in all the wrong places?
  5. Just Browsing- You may not be a poster but more a window shopper, going into Facebook to see what everyone else is doing. If your browsing is taking up more and more time, it can be due to a fear of missing out. “The fear of missing out is defined as a pervasive apprehension that others might be having rewarding experiences from which one is absent, FoMO is characterized by the desire to stay continually connected with what others are doing.” (Przybylski, A. K.; Murayama, K.; DeHaan, C. R. & Gladwell, V.,2013)  Similar to the serial poster, you are not connected to your own self and missing out on your own life.
  6.  Adding More & More Friends– You may think that adding more friends will equal more connections, yet it only equals more people who aren’t liking and commenting on your posts. Stick to people you know, have met in person or have a common interest. Otherwise don’t add to gain numbers, in the end does it really matter?

To learn about the psychology behind this behavior and tips you may also want to read my previous blog How To Stop Falling into the Social Media Habit.

Lisa Hutchison LMHC works for empaths who want to recharge and refill their depleted energies in order to heal themselves and others. As an intuitive psychotherapist and certified angel card reader she helps her clients find realistic life solutions that work whether it is health concerns, work or relationships. To Get her FREE 10page E- book, 8 Simple Things That Release Chaos Now visit www.lisahutchison.net

References: Przybylski, A. K.; Murayama, K.; DeHaan, C. R. & Gladwell, V. (2013), “Motivational, emotional, and behavioral correlates of fear of missing out.”, Computers in Human Behavior, 29 (4): 1841–1848, doi:10.1016/j.chb.2013.02.014

18 thoughts on “6 Facebook Behaviors that Suck Out Your Energy

  1. I love this post, Lisa, and recognized myself (at times) in some of the ‘signs.’ Like so many things, social media i a tool that can be used for our good, or can, as you say, suck us dry. Good for you for helping to raise awareness!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this Lisa. I nodded my head at each one. A few things have happened over the past several months that are leading me farther away from social media and setting healthy boundaries. I cleansed my “friends” list on FB, I use co-schedule to schedule and post my blog posts for me, I got rid of my FB page, and low and behold, I got booted off Twitter. After trying to no avail to get my account back, I gave it up. It’s been 2 months and guess what? I don’t miss it at all! LOL xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are welcome Peggy. I am also setting more boundaries. At times I notice that I slip, it is a process. Being away for a week helped give me perspective and I didn’t miss the updates and status posts as I thought I would. I am on less now. I also co-schedule my Twitter and some Facebook posts. I heard about Twitter, Peggy that is too bad for them. It is nice to remain connected in this social media circus. 🙂

      Like

  3. I was late to the ball, but want to say how important I believe this post to be. Many people are so immersed in virtual playgrounds they are losing touch with life. I watched as a mother and father, each with their eyes glued to their subjective phones, completely ignored their 2 beautiful little girls. It was as if the girls needed to be on FB just so the parents would see them. When the girls excalated their demands to be seen (as children do) the parents yelled at the girls without even lifting their eyes.
    Social Media has a purpose, and that is not to replace human connection or aleviate one from duties. The connections in front of this couple were the most precious of their life, and yet were the most ignored.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good tips. I have to be very conscious and selective about my use of social media. There are, for example, many people I like and support as individuals but whose work does not resonate with me. I look for ways to be supportive but, instead of grumbling about “too many typos and not enough editing,” I just wish them well and move on. I also take breaks.

    I am, however, forever grateful for the opportunity social media provides to stay in touch with friends and loved ones when the stuff is hitting the fan. It was an amazing (both calming and energizing) resource for us during our recent evacuation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Andrea, I too have to be aware of my social media use. Taking breaks gives me a sense of peace and perspective. I am grateful for my FB friends who have stuck by me through thick and thin. I am glad that you had support during the recent evacuation, those are the gifts of social media.

      Like

Leave a Reply

