Exercise for Empaths: Let’s Get Physical!

There are a lot of posts after the new year touting exercise.  Yes, exercise is great for keeping in shape and losing those extra pounds put on because of holiday eating. Exercise for empaths has added benefits because it can improve your mood by discharging the excess energies absorbed from others.

Energetic Sponges

Empaths absorb a lot of energy from others and easily get swept up in the emotions of guilt, depression, anger or physical pain. As an energetic, compassionate sponge you soak up whatever emotion is around you.

Empaths who are clairsentient feel, sense and know other’s emotions without being told any information. This energetic communication is taken in through the second chakra to be processed. When you do not have boundaries in order to protect your own energies, you develop an energy overload from others in this area of your body. Over time you may gain weight in that lower abdomen region, experience digestive disorders and other health issues. In order to stay a healthy empath, you need an outlet to release that extra energy. Health for an empath is about releasing the energy that is not yours and protecting the precious energy that is your own. This is why it is essential for you to have some sort of physical activity as part of your wellness routine.

My Journey

I began walking for my health. My health could motivate me yet weight never could. Luckily, I have been blessed with a high metabolism and a lot of energy. I found that this past year walking was not cutting it because I was feeling emotionally drained and fatigued afterwards. I was absorbing not only other people’s but also a lot of spirit energy because I have gone deeper into my psychic skills giving more angel card, mediumship and intuitive readings. I learned through a healing session that the proper exercise needs to feel rejuvenating overtime.  At this stage of my life, I required something more to get my body moving and shaking off what I no longer needed.

I began to dance which was good however I missed being around the healing aspects of nature. I then added into my routine a run/walk. I ran in high school, in fact I was captain of the cross country running team. Based on this past experience, I  thought that I would easily get back in the sync of running. That is not the case, with age, I have new chronic pains and more weight than I did back in high school. Simply running was out of the question. I compromised by creating the run/walk. I enjoy this form of movement because each time I push myself a little bit more beyond my comfort zone. An interesting thing happens when you run, your mind starts to tell you that you can’t go on, it’s hard etc. As in any life challenge, you find that you can go beyond that point and a little further if you dig deep inside of yourself. Each time I do this, I feel successful.

Maybe my run/walk will turn into a straight run, maybe not. It’s all good whether it stays at this pace or goes beyond. I like testing the limits, releasing the energies and connecting with nature. What ways can you challenge yourself to go beyond your comfort zone and release the energy that you absorb?

 

Lisa Hutchison is a licensed psychotherapist who specializes in empaths and empathy. She is here to help you express your authentic voice, protect your precious energy and trust your instincts. As a #1 international bestselling author in 365 Ways to Connect to Your Soul, bestselling author in Unleash Your Inner Magnificence and author in Chicken Soup for the Soul’s The Power of Positive, Lisa loves to write about empathic helpers and artists guiding them to connect within to their own spirit and that of the Divine. Lisa offers private sessions in person and by phone for angel card readings, creative writing and therapeutic sessions.  Learn more at http://www.lisahutchison.net and get 10 Ways to Connect To Your Spirit as a FREE gift.

24 thoughts on “Exercise for Empaths: Let’s Get Physical!

  1. ‘In order to stay a healthy empath, you need an outlet to release that extra energy. Health for an empath is about releasing the energy that is not yours and protecting the precious energy that is your own.’ I LOVE how you explained this. This is so true! I often feel my second chakra feel like a pressure cooker. Yes, I am clairsentient and energetically very sensitive. This has helped me see that I really need to start moving more (I only take walks and am yoga stretches). Thank you for this great blog post and insight!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of the things I love & adore about running is that I can’t do it without silencing my inner negative voice. So when I am outside running, I am constantly telling myself good things. That is as helpful to me as the physical exercise!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, Lisa. I used to hate running, I could never do it in high school, I just thought it wasn’t for me. I started doing a combination of walking and running, too. Eventually, I stopped walking and just ran. I’ve been running now for 15 years, it’s part of who I am. Keep it up, it’s so worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Firstly, well done.
    I would not worry to much about turning your walk into a run.
    I have heard many times that walking is as good or even better for us than running.
    Walking perhaps puts less strain on our body.
    But, it’s your call.
    Best Wishes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

